Nov 11, 2019  
2018-2019 Undergraduate and Graduate Catalog 
2018-2019 Undergraduate and Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Religious Studies Certificate

Please be aware that this program is not eligible for Financial Aid unless pursued concurrently with a degree program.


A bachelor's degree with a major in a traditional discipline. The Religious Studies Certificate is organized into four areas of study. Religious Texts examines texts from the world's religious traditions and their historical and cultural contexts. Religious Traditions (Group A) includes coursework in Judaism, Christianity and Islam, and Religious Traditions (Group B), coursework in Buddhism, the religions of Japan, the religions of South Asia, the religions of Southeast Asia, and indigenous religions. The fourth area of study is Religion in the  Contemporary World.

A minimum of 24 units in Religious Studies:

Upper Division:

A minimum of 18 upper-division units, with at least one course selected from each of the following four course areas:

Elective (not an Area Course)


Courses with a subject focus on religion that are offered by other departments can be articulated into the certificate, e.g., AFRS 353, AFRS 498 (up to 6 units).

* When the subject matter of a special topics course is applicable, the course may be used.