Jul 18, 2024  
2019-2020 Undergraduate and Graduate Catalog 
2019-2020 Undergraduate and Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Theatre Arts

Department Chair: Jeff Janisheski

Department Office: Theatre Arts (TA), Room 221

Telephone: (562) 985‑7891

Faculty: Anthony Byrnes, Andrea Caban, Martha Carter, Anne D’Zmura,  David Jacques, Ezra LeBank, Hugh O’Gorman, Nancy Jo Smith, Shanti Pillai

Undergraduate Advisor: Adriane Howze (562) 985-4042

Graduate Advisor: Josh Nathan (562) 985-4070

Administrative Coordinator: Jennifer White (562) 985-7891

Career Possibilities

Actor • Director • Stage Manager • Lighting Designer • Costume Designer • Set Designer • Technical Director • Teacher • Theatre Administrator • Theatre Manager • Director of Development • Box Office Manager • Managing Director • Artistic Director • Marketing Director • Playwright • Writer

(Some of these, and other careers, require additional education or experience. For more information, see www.careers.csulb.edu.)


The Department of Theatre Arts offers the Bachelor of Arts degree with opportunities for options in Performance (acting) and Technical Theatre (scenery/costume/lighting).

The Department of Theatre Arts offers graduate study leading to the Master of Fine Arts degrees. The candidate is urged to observe the general requirements stated in this Catalog, as well as the specific departmental requirements stated here and, more fully, in the Department Program Planners, available upon request from the department.

CSULB is an accredited institutional member of the National Association of Schools of Theatre (NAST). The Theatre Arts Department is also a member in good standing with the Theatre Communications Group, the United States Institute of Theatre Technology, the University/Resident Theatre Association, and the International Theatre Institute of the United States.

All majors are required to participate in the departmental production program. Furthermore, majors enrolled in any acting course are expected to audition and participate in departmental productions in that semester. The student is expected to accept any role in which he/she is cast. Majors are also expected to seek approval from their advisor before making any commitment to a theatre program which lies outside of the departmental academic program.

The W. David Sievers Memorial Scholarship in acting, named for the first faculty member of the theatre program, is awarded annually to new students who exhibit potential in the field of performance. This award consists of a modest sum and is determined through competitive audition judged by faculty. In addition, the Fine Arts Affiliates of the University and the Dramatic Allied Arts Guild of Long Beach provide monetary awards to qualified students in all areas of theatre. For further information contact the Department of Theatre Arts.

Admissions will be closed for the MFA in Theatre Arts with an Option in Scenic, Lighting, or Costume Design through the academic year 2021-2022.


    Undergraduate DegreesGraduate and Professional DegreesMinor


      Theatre ArtsPage: 1 | 2